The AI offers in the GitHub Student Developer Pack, and what ends when you graduate
read Oct 19, 2026 on GitHub's and the partners' pages
In short
The pack's AI offers are GitHub Copilot Student (free while you're a verified student), Notion's Education plan with extra AI responses, Camber's student plan with 50 AI agent messages a month, and a student discount on Microsoft 365 with Copilot. Claude, ChatGPT, Gemini, Perplexity and Cursor aren't in it. GitHub's student status lasts 2 years, and each offer ends on its own terms.
The AI offers in the pack
| Offer | What you get | How long | Card | At the end |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GitHub Copilot StudentGitHub | Unlimited code completions, an allowance of GitHub AI Credits, and limited chat and agent use, with models picked by auto model selection | While you're a verified student; re-checked every month | No card | UnknownGitHub doesn't ask for a card to activate it, and doesn't say what happens when your eligibility lapses. |
| Notion Education planNotion | Notion's Plus-level Education plan with additional Notion AI responses | No set end date; verify once a year with your school email | Not stated | Reverts to freeNotion accepts only a school email, not a student ID. The extra AI responses appear only on GitHub's pack page. |
| Camber Student planCamber | 40 CPU hours, 5 GPU hours, 50 GB of storage and 50 AI agent messages a month, for building and running data-science agents | While you're enrolled | Not stated | UnknownCamber's own pages don't list the Student plan or say what happens after. |
| Microsoft 365 Personal for studentsMicrosoft | Microsoft 365 Personal with Copilot in Word, Excel, PowerPoint, OneNote and Outlook, at 50% off for college students | While you re-verify each year | Card needed | Auto-billsIt renews every month at the student price; once you're no longer eligible it moves to the full monthly price. The India price didn't display on Microsoft's page. |
- GitHub Copilot StudentGitHub
Unlimited code completions, an allowance of GitHub AI Credits, and limited chat and agent use, with models picked by auto model selection
While you're a verified student; re-checked every month · no card
UnknownGitHub doesn't ask for a card to activate it, and doesn't say what happens when your eligibility lapses.
- Notion Education planNotion
Notion's Plus-level Education plan with additional Notion AI responses
No set end date; verify once a year with your school email · not stated
Reverts to freeNotion accepts only a school email, not a student ID. The extra AI responses appear only on GitHub's pack page.
- Camber Student planCamber
40 CPU hours, 5 GPU hours, 50 GB of storage and 50 AI agent messages a month, for building and running data-science agents
While you're enrolled · not stated
UnknownCamber's own pages don't list the Student plan or say what happens after.
- Microsoft 365 Personal for studentsMicrosoft
Microsoft 365 Personal with Copilot in Word, Excel, PowerPoint, OneNote and Outlook, at 50% off for college students
While you re-verify each year · card needed
Auto-billsIt renews every month at the student price; once you're no longer eligible it moves to the full monthly price. The India price didn't display on Microsoft's page.
Who qualifies, and how GitHub checks
- You must be 13 or older, enrolled in a degree- or diploma-granting program (high school, college, university or homeschool), and have a GitHub personal account. Teachers and researchers can't get the pack.
- GitHub accepts a dated school ID, class schedule, transcript or enrolment letter. If other students at your school verified with an academic email, you must use one too; if your school issues no academic email, send a school webpage or a letter on letterhead explaining that.
- GitHub checks that you're near your campus or in a verifiable distance-learning program, so turn off a VPN when you apply. It asks for a live photo of your document; put a typed English translation next to a non-English document, and a converted date next to a non-standard academic calendar.
- Approval usually takes a few days, longer at the start of a semester; benefits arrive within 72 hours after that. Your student status lasts 2 years before you revalidate.
When you graduate
GitHub has no single rule for the whole pack. Copilot Student is re-checked every month. Notion moves your workspace to its Free plan once you can't verify with a school email, and Microsoft's student price rises to the full monthly price when you're no longer eligible. Timed offers start when you set them up, and re-verifying doesn't reset them. JetBrains gives 40% off for two years after its student licence ends.
Not in the pack
- Claude: not in the pack.
- ChatGPT: not in the pack.
- Gemini: not in the pack. Students can get it through Google AI Plus (India), Google AI Pro (United States), Google AI Plus (Worldwide).
- Perplexity: not in the pack. Students can get it through Education Pro (discounted Perplexity Pro) + Comet (United States).
- Cursor: not in the pack.
Questions
- How do I get the GitHub Student Developer Pack in India?
- Apply under Education benefits in your GitHub settings with a dated school ID, class schedule, transcript or enrolment letter. Use your academic email if your school's students have verified with one; if your college issues none, send a school webpage or a letter on letterhead saying so. GitHub wants a live photo of the document, a typed English translation beside a non-English one, and you on or near your campus with any VPN turned off.
- How long does GitHub Student Developer Pack verification take?
- GitHub says applications are generally processed within a few days, longer at the start of a semester, and benefits arrive within 72 hours of approval. Copilot Student can take several more days to apply after that.
- Are Copilot Student sign-ups open?
- GitHub's changelog of June 17, 2026 says sign-ups for Copilot Student reopened gradually over the following weeks. GitHub's education FAQ discussion, last edited Sep 2, 2026, still says new sign-ups are paused, so check your Education benefits page, and don't buy a plan if only paid options appear.
- Does the pack's Deepnote offer include AI?
- No. The pack gives Deepnote's Team plan free while you're a student, but Deepnote's education plan leaves out Deepnote AI, scheduling and advanced machines.
- Does the JetBrains student licence include JetBrains AI?
- Only a limited trial. JetBrains says the student pack includes a limited trial of its AI tools; after the trial you keep the IDEs free. The licence renews every year in your JetBrains account, with no card.
- How much does Copilot Student include?
- Unlimited code completions and an allowance of GitHub AI Credits for chat and agents, which don't carry over between months. Copilot Free, for comparison, has 2,000 completions a month.
- Is Claude in the GitHub Student Developer Pack?
- No. The pack lists no Anthropic or Claude offer (83 offers on Oct 19, 2026); its AI offers are Copilot Student, Microsoft 365 with Copilot, Notion's extra AI responses, Camber and Deepnote. Anthropic doesn't discount Claude Pro, so students get Claude free only where their university has a Claude for Education plan.
- Is ChatGPT in the GitHub Student Developer Pack?
- No. There is no live student offer for it on this site right now.
- Is Gemini in the GitHub Student Developer Pack?
- No. Instead: Google AI Plus through Google student offer in India, 12 months free; it then renews at ₹399/month unless you cancel. Google AI Pro through Google student offer in United States, 12 months free; it then renews at $19.99/month unless you cancel. Google AI Plus through Google student offer worldwide, 12 months free; it then renews as a paid plan unless you cancel.
- Is Perplexity in the GitHub Student Developer Pack?
- No. Instead: Perplexity Comet + Pro through Perplexity student offer in United States, for a length the official terms don't give; it then renews at $10/month unless you cancel.
- Is Cursor in the GitHub Student Developer Pack?
- No. There is no live student offer for it on this site right now.
Sources
- education.github.com/pack official
- docs.github.com/en/education/about-github-education/github-education-for-students/apply-to-github-education-as-a-student official
- docs.github.com/en/education/about-github-education/github-education-for-students/github-terms-and-conditions-for-the-student-developer-pack official
- docs.github.com/en/education/about-github-education/github-education-for-students/solving-problems-with-your-github-education-access official
- github.com/orgs/community/discussions/111352 official
- docs.github.com/en/copilot/how-tos/copilot-on-github/set-up-copilot/enable-copilot/set-up-for-students official
- docs.github.com/en/copilot/concepts/billing-and-usage/individuals/billing official
- github.blog/changelog/2026-06-17-copilot-individual-plan-sign-ups-are-reopening official
- microsoft.com/en-in/microsoft-365/college-student-pricing official
- notion.com/help/notion-for-education official
- cambercloud.com/github-student-pack official
- deepnote.com/docs/education-faqs official
- jetbrains.com/academy/student-pack official
every fact is quoted from GitHub's or the partner's own page; the pack changes often, so check it before you rely on an offer · re-read monthly